From hard pillows to hard clientele

Having gotten sick of not having any air-conditioning despite having paid for it, I decided to move to a new motel.

Three weeks on the road teaching at an English camp has narrowed my parameters to what is comfortable, over the mid-term. The new digs are actually branded as a motel, is clean and tidy with a bed that strangely bows slightly in he middle and modern decor in the room.
Being in a small town the rental fee is cheap, and I found out after a conversation with the ajumma that runs the place, is payable after the day has elapsed. A pleasant surprise. The motel is atop of a female only sauna, da-bang, general sauna and hair salon. After seeing two burly men take the lift up to my floor, all the evidence fits; I’ve landed in the working area of a flop shop. In a small town such as Okcheon, I think this qualifies as the red light district spot of the town.